[REVIEW] HERMES KELLY 25 cm

Images: https://imgur.com/gallery/BgTXhdp

Quality -10/10

This bag is clearly high quality. It is sleek, beautiful and served me well. Construction is detailed and sturdy.

Leather

I’ve touched epsom leather in Hermes stores before and it feels exactly the same. This is in Blue Glacier which is a lovely soft blueish grey I would recommend as a neutral. I wear it with whites, pastels, greys. The smell is divine. No fufu at all.

Stitching

The stitching is neat and at a slight angle, which I learned is how you tell if something is hand stitched.

Hardware

Hardware is weighty and shiny. The engravings are clear and crisp and look to be the right font and size to me. If anyone notices otherwise please leave a comment! I was told that some ladies actually bring their bags down to jewellers’ to test the hardware used. I haven’t done so, but will update in the future if I do.

Zipper

Zipper is smooth and easy to use.

Accuracy 9.5/10

I am by no means a Hermes or Kelly expert, but I haven’t spotted any differences between this bag and Kelly bags from reputable websites/videos online. I am loathe to give this an almost perfect score, so if anyone can spot anything a little bit off please tell me.

Instore test

I’ve walked into Hermes with this bag and a few other H items and the SAs are all super eager to serve. I’ve had one particular SA who was really snobbish in the past (sans H, when I was carrying a Nickloe Baguette!) do a 180 when he saw me with a H bag.

Stamping outside bag

I think this is a nice, clean stamp. The only tiny thing I can pick on is perhaps the S is floating a little? -0.5

Blindstamp inside bag

Blindstamp of the bag is on the left side close to the back flap. The factory buys a new bag each year to make sure the blindstamp and other details are up to date. If you are particular and knowledgeable, you can request for the blindstamp to be at a specific location and even give your own code. I have no knowledge about blindstamp so will take her word as accurate also because no one is going to be looking deep inside my bag. If this is inaccurate please let me know!

Engraving

Engraving on hardware looks clean and crisp to me. Font looks right.

Stitching

Stitching is neat and evenly spaced. Thread is exactly the same colour as leather.

Pearling

I have no idea how to identify pearling but another RL kindly helped me check via a picture and confirmed pearling exists.

Back tabs

I counted the number of stitches on the back tabs (I’ve seen some reviews where the back tabs are a tad too long?) and they seem to correspond with what I believe are auths online. (Around 10-11 stitches). Again, please let me know!

Glazing

Glazing looks nice and clean to me, nothing outside the lines, thickness looks to be the same as auths.

Accessories

Stamping on strap looks good. Hardware to connect to bag works well. I’ve done basic visual QC of the lock and clochette and they look accurate to me. Please let me know if otherwise.

Satisfaction – 10/10

This is my very first Hermes bag and I now own a few others. While certain IT bags come and go, the Kelly and Birkin are classic shapes and designs that somehow look good with every outfit. I chose the Kelly because it comes with a removable strap, so you can carry it handheld, cross body or as a shoulder bag depending on the occasion.


Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started